Working Girl (the positive denotation)

I’m getting jobs all of a sudden. Nothing big, but nothing small either.
Let me explain: I just graduated with my BA in LIt from UC Merced. I thought I’d be serving coffee by now, or at least everyone else thought I would be. I’ve always known I would make it, failure isn’t an option if I say it isn’t. And if you’ve read my other posts here on wordpress.com, you know I’ve gotten an experience only gig reviewing a couple of cool fantasy books. And that’s awesome! I’m really stoked about that.
Then, my beloved roommate recommended me as stand-in pet-sitter for a guy she usually pet-sits for. She’s going out of town at the same time he is, so of course, she couldn’t be there for him, and Raffy. So I’m going to go feed the sweet old pup and play a little fetch with him and basically hang out. Pretty cool, no?
Out of the blue I got my first job in publishing today; my friend from high school has an older brother. He just happens to need a proofreader for his book on guitar tab. She being the amazing friend that she is, suggested me. As a proofreader. For an e-book. Unfortunately I couldn’t do it because I was focusing all my efforts on summer school, but it’s a step in the right direction!

<3 Leave Me Comments <3

